NEA Publishes "Guide to Community-Engaged Research in the Arts and Health"

On December 8, 2016, the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) published a Guide to Community-Engaged Research in the Arts and Health, a blueprint for collaboration among academic researchers, arts organizations, and artists aiming to study the arts’ effects on health and extend this research to arts programs or therapies.

Read more


NEA Publishes "How to Do Creative Placemaking"

In its ongoing commitment to producing resources for community engagement with the arts, the National Endowment for the Arts has published How to Do Creative Placemaking: An Action-Oriented Guide to Arts in Community Development. The book features 28 essays from thought leaders active in arts-based community development as well as 13 case studies of projects funded through the NEA’s creative placemaking program, Our Town.

Read more


Fiscal Year 2018 Community Investment and Festival Grant Program Information Sessions

In preparation for Fiscal Year 2018 grant deadlines for the Community Investment and Festival Grant programs, the Arts Commission is offering information sessions online and around the state during the month of January, 2017. These sessions will be suitable for both new and returning applicants and will cover the application process, highlight changes to the guidelines and requirements for the upcoming grant cycle and allow time for questions from participants.

Read more


Arts Commissioner's Poetry Published

Congratulations to Lisa Jayne, a playwright from Show Low and a Governor-appointed member of the Arizona Commission on the Arts board of directors. Three of Jayne's poems were selected for inclusion in the recently published fall 2016 edition of Muddy River Poetry Review, an online, international anthology of previously unpublished work.

Read more


2017 Governor's Arts Awards Nominations Open

Our friends at Arizona Citizens for the Arts, a statewide arts advocacy organization, are now accepting nominations for 2017 Governor's Arts Awards. This year an eighth award category has been added: the Individual Philanthropy honors extraordinary philanthropic leadership through the contribution of financial resources to non-profit arts and culture organizations.

Read more

View All News Items


Latest Tweet